Okay, let me start out by saying that I really loathe the Seibu-Shinjuku metro line. I am so sure I got infected from some child or jerky business man while riding that god forsaken train. It's the ghetto line, and having to get on the absolutely gross, humid and crowded train in the morning three days a week, really makes me despise Tuesdays, Thursdays, and Fridays.
On Sunday I felt the onset of a soar throat. I thought it was the usual kind of allergic reaction that I get when I fall asleep with a runny nose (and mucus drips down my throat leading to irritation). Having run out of the allergy medicine I brought, I took some soar throat medicine preemptively and hoped for the best.
As my throat became gradually worse on Monday, I took the opportunity to examine my throat in the mirror using the flashlight that for some reason is in my room. Noticing the white mess on my tonsils, I immediately thought strep throat. Fortunately, the pain was still minimal.
Tuesday morning I ate a light breakfast and took SS line to Waseda. My throat was pretty sore at this point, and I ended up leaving Japanese class after our routine Kanji quiz, to see the school doctor. For the next 2 hours, I then proceeded to have an epic journey relating to my "strep throat." I was given wrong directions/information several times, and was even ignored by a guy cleaning the street. Even so, the doctor was really only concerned if I had swine flu, which annoyed me because I had no fever, cough, or runny nose.
Wednesday was pretty bad, having no pain killer (the ibuprofen that I bought had absolutely no effect), I ate a little oatmeal, which I think is still in the back of my throat. Went to see a throat specialist, who refuse to prescribe me a painkiller. However, Thursday was by far the most painful day. Couldn't eat or drink anything, and hadnt slept since Tuesday. I finished off the last of the ibuprofen -- went through 50 tablets in 3 days...probably killing my liver in the process.
Today, swelling in my lymph nodes and tonsils has gone down a little, but still a bit painful. Hope to god I am feeling better tomorrow. Ice water and popsicles seem to help. Havent eaten anything in 2 days, and really want some donuts and McDonalds. Like really, really hungry.
On Sunday I have a photoshoot in Harajuku on Omote-sando street (where all the big brands are). I hope I can talk again by then. Right now I sound frightening. Like a deaf person.
Thursday, November 19, 2009
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment